Skip to content ↓


SEND at Litherland High School

At Litherland High School we are fully committed to providing an inclusive education for all students to support them in achieving success, regardless of need or disability.

The school's aims are based on the development of each individual student and our determination to encourage them to achieve their best. Working in line with Sefton Council's Graduated Response Approach to SEND, we have a tiered approach to our support. This is done in a secure and stimulating learning environment where the student is at the centre of our planning. We seek to engender a sense of belonging to the school and to boost self-esteem, confidence and motivation. Our core purpose is "Success for All" and we aim to create a positive climate for learning where expectations and standards are high.

SEND Support Team

The SENDCo at Litherland High is Mrs. Morgan, who has had strong links with Litherland High School throughout her life. Mrs. Morgan attended Litherland High School as a student and went on to become a teacher of Science and Head of Year at the school before moving on to work at a local special educational school for students who have a diagnosis of Autism. Mrs. Morgan has since returned to Litherland High School as our SENDCo and is committed to ensuring that all students with additional needs can access high quality learning experiences alongside their peers. If you would like to contact Mrs. Morgan, please do not hesitate in doing so by emailing

At Litherland High School we ensure that students with EHCPs who require additional support in the classroom can access this support from a Teaching Assistant. Additionally, we have subject specific Teaching Assistants who support students in making progress in certain parts of the curriculum.

We have 13 Teaching Assistants in our Livo Family who have a broad range of expertise and a wealth of experience. Our Teaching Assistants are:

  • Mr Greene (Teacher/HLTA)
  • Mrs McIlroy (Teacher/HLTA)
  • Miss Bentley (HLTA)
  • Mrs O'Leary (HLTA)
  • Miss Roberts
  • Mr Barber
  • Miss Riley
  • Miss Munro
  • Mrs Irlam
  • Mrs White
  • Mrs Lawes
  • Mr Richardson
  • Mrs Simpson